It’s easy to forget you have shared a folder from Google Drive with someone. There are visual indicators which show a folder is shared, but if you are busy working, or don’t want to spend a lot of time logged into Shared Google Drive, you may not notice them.

.shared google drive

While you come across a situation where you want to limit the amount of time that your folder remains shared, there’s a script that can must help you add an expiration date to the sharing status. The way it works is by creating a duplicate of what you originally shared (minus the shared status) and deleting the original that others have access to. Ready to get started? Here’s how set up expiration dates for shared Google drive files.

Step 1:  Firstly  Add a copy of this script to your Google Drive. Then it’s done by going to File > Make a copy.

Step 2: Now Replace the FOLDER_URL value with the URL to your own shared folder. Then, set the EXPIRY_TIME value to your exact preferred expiration date.

Step 3: Go to on the menu bar, go to Run > Initialize to grant permissions for the script to work on your folder. Then, go to Run > Start and your script will cease sharing status for the folder on the date and time fixed you specified.

Note here: It works only on folders. If you want to share a file, just place it inside its own folder.

This script requires you to perform a couple of extra steps when you share a folder, but it’s useful because you do not have to worry about revoking sharing privileges later. 

Via : Digital Inspiration